The Owl’s Flight. Hegel’s Legacy in a Different Voice

In the 20th century Hegel’s philosophy was the object of clashing interpretations, which often leaded to dividing perspectives. Left-wing and right-wing, conservatism and Marxism, totalitarianism and liberalism: many adjectives have been used to describe the Hegelian philosophy. From an ideological and political point of view, as well as in a theoretical approach, with particular regard to the idea of system and dialectic, Hegelian thought separated people and philosophers.

In the second half of the century, deconstruction of subject and gender, philosophies of difference and feminist thought have privileged original orientations in the research on Hegel, facing in many ways topics otherwise taken for marginal or even ignored.

The Hegelian reference to the Owl, emblem of Minerva, makes philosophy and logos the attributes of a female figure, who appears only with the falling of the dusk, at the end of a world. If Hegel invites us in this way to comprehend our time just from that edge, where the present exceeds itself, the conference we propose is meant to accept the challenge: can the Hegelian inheritance be still enriched through other cultures and philosophical languages?

Invited Speakers

Prof. Dr. Myriam Bienenstock, Université François Rabelais Tours

Prof. Dr. Rossella Bonito Oliva, Università degli Studi di Napoli L’Orientale

Prof. Dr. Allegra de Laurentiis, Stony Brook University

(em.) Prof. Dr. Herta Nagl-Docekal, Universität Wien

Prof. Dr. Angelica Nuzzo, City University of New York

(em.) Prof. Dr. Erzsébet Rózsa, University of Debrecen

Prof. Dr. Nuria Sánchez Madrid, Universidad Complutense Madrid

Prof. Dr. Birgit Sandkaulen, Hegel-Archiv Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Scientific Committee

Stefania Achella, Gabriella Baptist,  Serena Feloj, Francesca Iannelli, Fiorinda Li Vigni, Claudia Melica

Organising Staff

Maria Aria Stadirani, Vasileios Davaris

Logo Designer: Marco Santamaria

Supported by

Sapienza Università di Roma

Università degli Studi Roma Tre

Università degli Studi “G. d’Annunzio” Chieti-Pescara

Università degli Studi di Cagliari

Istituto Italiano per gli Studi Filosofici – Napoli

Società Filosofica Italiana – Sezione Romana